My Top 3 Recipes

This week on the grill I’ve been going back and making 3 of my favourite recipes. 

Shrimp and Scallops – Early in the week, I stumbled upon some amazing looking colossal shrimp that I couldn’t resist. I marinated these (and some scallops to keep them company) in a mixture of olive oil and fresh lemon juice, with a bit of lemon rind, and served them up with some mega tasty garlic fries. These colossal shrimp (about 10 shrimp per 1 lb) were the bomb, and I don’t know how I can ever go back to the piddly little ones… Boo. 

Shrimp on Steroids

Beef with Wild Mushrooms – I also went back and made the Beef with Wild Mushrooms. I overcooked this slightly on the first outing, so I wanted to get it just right this time around. The beef turned out great and the shrooms were very garlicy. This is a tasty one that requires lots of mouth wash afterwards. 

Beef with Wild Mushrooms

Ribs with Plum Glaze – I loved the Baby Back Ribs with Plum Glaze recipe that I tried out recently. My only complaint was that I wanted more MEAT! So you can imagine what happened when I was walking past the meat counter and laid my eyes on this bad boy… 

Big Daddy Ribs

Talk about beauty to my eyes – all 3 lbs of it. Unfortunately I had to cut it in half as I didn’t have a Ziploc big enough for it. This bummed me out a bit, but will teach me to be better prepared for next time. I followed the same recipe as before, but had to keep these ribs on the grill for 1.2 hours until it was fully cooked. 

Afterwards @TheSkivvy got chased across the balcony by a giant  moth who had taken up residence in my grill. Monty the moth didn’t stick around for long though… I think the screaming drove him away. 

Lessons Learned: 

  • Practice makes perfect
  • Invest in Ziplocs the size of sleeping bags
  • Giant moths are a sign that I need to grill more
Explore posts in the same categories: beef, chicken, ribs, scallops

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

