Baby Back Ribs with Plum Glaze

Hello dear readers, did you miss me? After gaining back my mojo I’ve been having another go at some of the recipes featured on my blog, just to make sure I’ve still got it. 

However, today was a big step forward for me. It was rib day. I’ve been putting ribs off for a while. My excuses have included: 

  • “I need to be able to cook burgers before I can cook ribs…”
  • “I can’t do ribs as I need one of those meat injectors that Myron has…”
  • “I’ll wait until I change my gas canister as ribs take forever and I might run out…”
  • “I can’t find any damn plums…”

Of course, the truth was that I was just being a big old scaredy cat. So today I decided to rise up and make a stand against those damn ribs. Actually, that last point about the plums was actually true. Eventually I did manage to find some plums (as ragedy as they were) in Haagen, thanks to @TheSkivvy, though at the time I was convinced that the BBQ Gods were just trying to sabotage me! 

Now pay attention, as this recipe is way complicated for a simple gal like me: 

First thing you need is a nice rack of baby back ribs (I used a 1 lb rack) and put this into a big Ziploc (I actually had to cut the ribs in half and use two Ziplocs!). 

Meeeeeeeat!

 Then put the following marinade in a saucepan and bring to the boil: 

  • 1 cup fresh pineapple juice
  • 1/2 cup yellow onion (finely chopped)
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp fresh ginger (thinly sliced)
  • 2 tsp garlic (minced)

Once the marinade is cool, pour it into the Ziplocs with the ribs, and marinate it overnight. 

The next day (honestly, I must’ve dreamt about ribs all night!), you can start the fancy work. Take the ribs out of the Ziploc and put it in a Pyrex dish, or something similar. Brush the ribs lightly with Asian Sesame Oil and a sprinkle of salt, then leave it at room temperature for about 30 minutes. Now don’t throw away that marinade as we’re going to use that next in the plum glaze. 

For the plum glaze, put the following into a large saucepan: 

  • 1 cup of the marinade
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup dry sherry
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp mustard powder
  • 4 large plums (pitted and quartered)

Funky-ass glaze (too jazzy!)

 Bring the glaze to a boil, then simmer over a low-medium heat for about 45 minutes, until it has thickened and the plums are falling apart. Then strain the glaze through a sieve. Keep about 1/2 cup of the glaze to serve with the ribs, and the other half for basting the ribs. 

Next, time to fire up the grill. The tip I got from my lovely Twitter friends was to make sure you cook ribs low and slow. So I heated up the grill to 300 and placed the ribs (bone down) on an indirect heat. Spray the ribs every so often with apple juice to keep them moist (I saw Myron do this on Barbeque Pitmasters so it must work!). 

Remember, low and slow dude

 After about 40 minutes start to baste the ribs with the plum glaze. Continue to baste the ribs every 5 minutes or so until the ribs have been on for a full hour, until they look something like this… 

A sight to behold

 Then when you take them off the grill, leave the ribs to rest for about 5 minutes before serving up. I had mine with a nice cob and some grilled veggies. 

A magical plate of deliciousness

 Lessons Learned: 

  • I have the best Twitter friends
  • Try these out with big daddy ribs too if you want more meat
  • Get your scrubbing arm at the ready… but If you don’t fancy scrubbing grates for hours then try using a grill tray (I’m going to give this option a go next time) 
Explore posts in the same categories: ribs

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

