Beef with Wild Mushrooms

I’m starting to build up some good experience with steaks. Ok, the first steak outing got slashed a lot in between, but the second steak outing came up trumps. This time around, I had a bit more multitasking to deal with, and we know how good I am at multitasking (clue: not very good at all). 

Fortunately, the recipe for beef with wild mushrooms is quite straightforward, but very tasty. I simply grilled up a couple of sirloin steaks seasoned with salt and pepper, and then poured over wild mushrooms cooked in butter and parsley. 

The ingredients: 

  • 2 sirloin steaks
  • 50 g butter
  • 2 garlic cloves (crushed)
  • 150 g mixed wild mushrooms
  • 2 tbsp fresh parsley (chopped)

Perfecting the sear

 Normally I would feel quite comfortable cooking up a steak, but I think that the running in between the balcony and the kitchen (where I was also cooking up some Yorkshire Puddings in the oven), threw me off slightly. Lucky for me, @TheSkivvy was handling the wild mushrooms and a tasty orange spinach salad. 

Out on the balcony, the steaks looked done perfectly, so I turned the grill heat down to low and dashed inside quickly to get the Yorkies out the oven. Trust the damn things to get stuck to the pan slightly, so they took a few minutes longer than I expected to get them all off. As soon as I did, I ran back out and put the steaks on a serving plate. 

It’s amazing how an extra five minutes can slightly overdo a steak. Luckily though it wasn’t overdone to “old boot” level, just more towards the slightly well done than the medium. I know to keep a better eye on them the next time and just take them straight off and leave to rest for those five minutes instead. 

Damn those puds

 Lessons learned: 

  • Don’t take your eyes off those steaks
  • Yorky puds are a pain in the arse sometimes, but worth it
Explore posts in the same categories: beef

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

