British Bangers and Mash

There’s something about British sausages that makes them so damn good. For a start they are very smooth and the skin goes crispy (not chewy) when you cook them. I’ve always struggled to find a good sausage over here. The best I’ve found is a British Banger from Zenner’s, but it’s still edging on the bitty side (if you’re a British ex-pat, you’ll know what I mean). 

There’s not much skill required for this particular dish, which is lucky for me! Simply put your pork sausages on the grill and cook away, keeping the lid closed as much as possible and making sure to rotate the sausages every now and then. Also thinly slice up a sweet onion and put in a grill pan with a bit of olive oil. 

Bitty British Bangers

I was happily grilling away and admiring my work of art, when I heard a shout from below “What’s for dinner tonight?”. Seems that some cheeky cyclist was also appreciating the fine smell of grilled sausages and onions. Success! …Trust me to be wearing my grey marls (90’s fashion really should stay in the 90’s, along with shell suits). 

The mash is straight forward too. I’m told that the key is lots and lots of butter. @TheSkivvy makes the best mash in the world. Below is an estimate of what she used (whenever I manage to catch a sneak peak of what she’s up to). But I think she does some kind of secret ninja tatty move in between, which makes the flavour go through the roof.

Unfortunately, I’ve never been able to find out what it is exactly. So until I find out the secret, I’ll say that I think it’s more of an “add until it looks right” kind of deal. 

The mash-estimate: 

  • 4 yukon gold potatoes (skinned)
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 2-3 tbs butter
  • Salt to taste

Then just pile it onto a plate, with some Bisto (lazy gravy) and ta-daaa… 

Bangers and Mash Goodness

Lessons Learned 

  • Remember, people can still see what you’re wearing on the balcony
  • Book a plane ticket to the UK for a proper sausage fest
Explore posts in the same categories: sausages

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

