Perfect Steak

After recovering from the not-so-good Flatulence Burger experience, my attention turned full circle back to meat. In particular, steak. Steak is meat, and meat is good. 

You may remember that my first outing with steak ended up well, but hit a few speed bumps in between. So I was determined to get it right first time and apply my lessons learned:

  • Always believe what your thermometer(s) are telling you
  • Avoid Freddie Krueger action
  • Leave to rest

For the steak, I used the same marinade from the steak fajitas (as it was pretty damn tasty): 

  • 1 lb sirloin steak
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 lime (grated rind)
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 2 garlic cloves (crushed)
  • 1/4 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/4 tsp ground cumin
  • Salt and pepper

I pre-heated the grill to around 250 and continued to baste the steak with the marinade. I kept the lid closed a lot more than before, and maintained the heat between 250-300.  

This 1 lb steak took about 10 minutes each side until it reached a temperature just between rare and medium. I found it’s better to slightly undercook it to where you want it, as last time I think the meat continued to cook slightly after I took it off the grill (call me nuts, maybe it was just my imagination). 

Anyway, check it out! 

A sexy piece of meat

Because I had the steak at a slightly lower temperature this time, I missed out on the pretty sear marks. But to compensate it was a lot more juicier. In fact, it was bloody fantastic. 

Here’s what it looked like inside  – Yummy! 

Pinkness perfected

Unfortunately, @TheSkivvy was still recovering from the Flatulence Burgers, so was unable to join me for this most excellent meal. I did save a nice cut of steak for her though, so hopefully she will be able to enjoy it for her dinner tomorrow. 

Lessons Learned: 

  • Meat is good
  • Practice definitely makes perfect!
Explore posts in the same categories: steak

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

