Grilled Shrimp with Citrus Salsa

You know what they say: “Third time’s a charm!”.

If you’ve been keeping me company on my grilling journey (and if not, why the hell not? The road to the top is lonely), you will know that my first outing with shrimp got my special “Mega-Sear” touch. My second outing with shrimp ended up under-done. So I was hoping to be third time lucky this time around.

For the shrimp marinade:

  • 1 lb jumbo shrimp
  • 2 tsp chopped coriander
  • 1 pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 4 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 4 coriander leaves to garnish

Now I have been banned from divulging the Citrus Salsa recipe by @TheSkivvy. If you are interested in this (and it was, not to rub it in, absolutely AMAZING), you will have to send questions on a postcard to her… or just tweet her. Tweeting also works… Now go grovel as this dish is nothing without the salsa.

This time around I went back to grilling the shrimp on the grates, but kept the heat around 250. I tried to keep the lid down as much as possible and turned the bad boys a few times to give them my newly improved technique: The “Mini-Sear”!

That's the way to cook it!

For the first time since I started grilling, the shrimp turned out perfectly! Just to be sure, I tested out one of them before serving up. Deeee-lish!

Success is sweet... and zesty!

Lessons Learned:

  • 3 is my lucky number
  • Citrus salsa: heaven in a dipping bowl
Explore posts in the same categories: kabobs, Shrimp

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

