Barbequed Steak Fajitas

Up until a week ago, I may have been a grilling virgin, but I’m no stranger to the kitchen. Believe it or not,  I’m quite a dab hand when it comes to conventional cooking. However, one thing I have never cooked before is steak. I’m not sure why. I think it may be because I’m scared to f*ck up such an expensive piece of meat. But if my goal is to eventually get to brisket, then steak is a hurdle that needs to be conquered. And conquer I will! 

Before moving on to “steak steak”, I thought I would take a baby step and try out steak fajitas first. 

For the steak fajitas: 

  • 1 sirloin steak
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 lime (grated rind)
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 2 garlic cloves (crushed)
  • 1/4 tsp ground coriander
  • 1/4 tsp ground cumin
  • Salt and pepper
  • 4 flour tortillas
  • 1 avocado
  • 2 tomatoes (thinly sliced)
  • 1 tbsp sour cream
  • 4 spring onions (thinly sliced)

Bring on the meat, meat, meat! 

Now that's what I call a piece of meat

@TheSkivvy left the steak to marinate overnight. It smelled goo-ood! 

I slapped the steak on the grill, pre-heated to around 300 and hoped for the best. It seared up pretty quickly. 

Steak (complete with trusty thermometer)

It started to look pretty well done after about 5 minutes, but my thermometer was telling me that it was still rarer than rare. I wondered whether my thermometer was a dud one, so I pulled out my Weber wand to double-check.

You would think I would believe what two different thermometers were telling me, but nope. I pulled the bad boy off the grill and took it inside quickly to see if it was done… It was so bloody, it almost ran off my plate back into the fields from which it came. Mooo! So back on the barbie it went. 

I didn’t want to cremate it and have it turn into old boots, so I kept it on the grill for another few minutes before pulling it off again. Second go… nope. Still a bit rare for my liking. So third time lucky. 

After another couple of minutes it was cooked to a perfect medium-well. Just how I like it. Thank goodness this steak was for a fajita, because it looked like it had been on a date with Freddie Krueger. It all worked out well in the end, but I may need a bit more practice before I cook a perfect steak first time around. 

Steak fajitas all round... eventually

Lessons learned:

  • Always believe what your thermometers are telling you
  • Keep the lid closed as much as possible during cooking
  • Leave to rest for five minutes before cutting, for the juices to settle
Explore posts in the same categories: steak

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Barbequed Steak Fajitas”

  1. Patrick Says:

    Excellent GO at it! 🙂 Though, I contend with the “steak before brisket” applique, only as I still can’t hang T-bone like a real steak cook! But I’ll smoke the big meat till it’s butter! Diff paths to the same enlightenment? I’m ok with that!:-)
    What a great blog you already got going!
    Now that we’ve joined forces in the tweet-verse, come over and Join some more of your TASTE Buds on facebook!

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/TASTE-Buds/235113464974?ref=mf

    It’s all about putting smiles on faces from the belly up! 🙂 And anything that TASTE good!
    Come on in!
    Get fed!
    Patrick


Leave a Reply

