Chicken Satay and Tropical Rice Salad

From the moment I first lit my grill, I’ve been on a mission to produce at least one meal without any f*ck ups. Well hooray for today! 

Here was the golden recipe for Chicken Satay: 

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 8 tbsp crunchy peanut butter
  • 1 onion (coarsely chopped)
  • 1 garlic clove (coarsely chopped)
  • 2 tbsp creamed coconut
  • 4 tbsp peanut oil
  • 1 tsp light soy sauce
  • 1 fresh red chilli pepper (chopped and de-seeded)

Unlike previous meals (where I had portions that could potentially feed all of my neighbors), I only had three skewers of chicken to work with, so there was no room for error. 

After reconsidering my infamous “Mega-Sear” technique, I decided to concentrate very hard on temperature control. On previous outings, my Weber guide told me to  pre-heat the grill to between 400-450 (cheers Weber). This time, I ignored it and took it down a notch to 200-250, and voila… 

Not-Mega-Seared Chicken Satay

I was extremely happy with myself on this one. It may have taken five goes, but I got there in the end. Maybe it’s because I do my best work in the rain (it was absolutely pissing it down tonight!). On top of that, the tropical rice salad made by my first-class helper @TheSkivvy was divine. Onwards and upwards Bar-B-Khoo! 

Lessons Learned: 

  • I am awesome at this
Explore posts in the same categories: chicken, kabobs

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

