Pork and Sage Kabobs

Up next on the menu: Pork and sage kabobs.

Pork and Sage Kabobs

I got this recipe from a book that one of my friends gave me. For the kabobs (note: this is for four people):

  • 1 lb ground pork
  • 1/2 cup fresh breadcrumbs
  • 1 finely chopped small onion
  • 1 tsp fresh sage
  • 2 tsp apple sauce
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 3 tbsp olive oil and 1 tsp lemon juice to baste
  • Salt and pepper

So off I trotted to put the perfectly sculpted kabobs on the grill. It was a really chilly evening outside, but like I said – I would be out grilling come rain, hail or shine! All was going well. Then something bad happened…

My brief moment of serenity before things went tits up

…I lifted up the lid of my grill and all of the kabobs had fallen off the skewers! It looked like a right dog’s dinner. Luckily my helper (@theskivvy) managed to salvage half of the kabobs… even though she elbowed me out of the way in the process! Thank goodness I didn’t notice the ingredients was to serve four people, not two.

A good lesson carried over from the last time: always make more than what you need, especially when you are a novice. Half of it is bound to bite the dust somehow!

Despite the minor set-back (and a slightly bruised ego), half of the kabobs were saved, and we finally managed to sit down to a lovely dinner. These kabobs (ie: meatballs in disguise) were absolutely delicious. So much so that I’ll be doing a Take 2  at the weekend.

I spent the remainder of the night scrubbing my grill grates to hell. My biceps are lovely and toned now. Who said that food and fitness can’t be friends?

Ta-da! All's well that ends well.

Lessons Learned:

  • Minced/ground meat is not solid enough to be skewered, without falling apart
  • Place the kabobs (meatballs) on a grilling dish instead of trying to skewer them
Explore posts in the same categories: kabobs, pork

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

