How to Calculate Hours of Burn Time

How to Calculate Hours of Burn Time

This was a useful tid-bit I picked up during my weekend from hell. Now remember, that elusive 20lb tank can only hold 15lbs of gas. So…

  • 440,000 BTU / 20 = 22,000 BTU per 1 lb gas
  • So a 15 lb tank = 330,000 BTU (22,000 x 15)
  • 330,000 BTU / 20,750 (BTU of my Weber Q320 Grill) = 15.9 hours burn time

Huuh! For some reason when I originally worked this out, I only got 4.5 hours. Good news that I no longer have to trade in my guzzler of a car to fund my grilling habit! My maths teacher was right – always double-check your sums! 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: propane gas

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

